Blueberry Cake with Crumble Topping

Who loves cake? Seems like a silly question, right? Personally I’ve been a big fan of cake in all its marvelous forms since my first birthday. I believe I was given a chocolate cake with a clown wearing a pink hat on top. Classic 80s. Since that fatefully day I’ve been asking these same simple questions—-
Did someone say there was cake? Can I have some? Is there icing? Can I have another sliver please? Can I have the recipe?
Sound familiar? Well, heck yes! While I will admit that I am not expert at making basic cakes from scratch (I’ll admit to using the boxed stuff… eeep), but I can whip up a mean blueberry cake with a yummy crumble topping. Trust me on the yummy part of that sentence. This recipe is one I may have borrowed from mom.To begin to make this delicious 8×8 cake with the even more delicious topping you’ll need to:
Cream together in a large bowl:
-1/4 c. softened butter
-3/4 c. sugar
-1 egg
Leave aside.

In a separate small bowl mix together:
-2 c. flour
-2 tsp. baking powder
-pinch of salt, about 1/2 tsp.
Mix these dry ingredients into the wet mixture alternatively with 1/2 c. milk
Mix well, the batter will be thick

Add 2 c. blueberries. (Frozen is fine, but make sure they have thawed enough, or they’ll freeze the batter and make it incredibly difficult to stir, trust me, I’ve made that mistake one too many times). The batter will turn purple because of the berries, but that’s normal. Once its baked, the cake won’t be purple anymore 🙂

Pour the batter into a lightly greased 8×8 glass pan (I greased mine with some butter to make it easier when removing the cake later.)

The topping:
-1/4 c. softened butter
-1/3 c. flour
-1/2 c. brown sugar
-1/2 tsp. cinnamon


Mix well, and then crumble with your fingers on top of the cake batter and bake at 375 for 35 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean.

Now comes the easy part, wait for the cake to cool and you can cut the pieces right out of the glass pan. I promise tasty. The crumble topping makes the cake absolutely delicious, guaranteed. Enjoy!!

Leave a comment