Easy Mushroom Beef Stew

While I did say I would keep up with the blogging I’ve somehow already fallen behind! To remedy the situation here is a super easy recipe for beef tomato mushroom stew in a crock pot. Yum!!

20120306-210526.jpg

Well that looks good right?!! I know you’re thinking that there is no way that anything that delicious looking could be easy right? Wrong! Follow along and you’ll see.

You’ll need:

20120306-211442.jpg

Large package of stewing beef (like Costco big, or two of the smaller ones from the grocery store)
5-6 medium potatoes
3 big carrots
3 stalks of celery
2 big packages of mushrooms (I LOVE mushrooms!)
1 medium onion
1 garlic bulb
1 can of tomato paste
Worcestershire sauce
Olive oil (for browning the beef)
Spices!
1 carton of beef stock/broth (any will do, I had the Campbell’s less salt in my cupboard)

Super easy, cut the bigger pieces of beef into smaller pieces, you want the pieces to be big enough so they don’t dry out and get tough, but you also don’t want them so big that it’s unmanageable to eat!
Put some olive oil in a frying pan and heat up. Drop some of the beef chunks into the pan and just sear the outside of each piece. I did mine in about four batches to even out the heat distribution. Be sure to not let the beef cook too much or it won’t be tender and yummy later.

20120306-212102.jpg Once browned put the beef in the crock pot. While I wait for that stuff to brown I cut me some veggies!
Potatoes- cut into bite sized pieces
Mushrooms- cut into quarters
Carrots- slices, good sizes (vague I realize)
Celery- slices, but not to thin
Onion- teeny (I don’t like seeing onion in my cooked food….but I like the flavour)
Garlic- I cut up the whole bulb. Yum Garlic!

 

 

20120306-212454.jpg
Once all the beef is browned and in your crockpot, dump all the veggies (potatoes, carrots, celery, garlic, onion and HALF of the quarter mushrooms) in the crock pot and gently stir it up. Add the tomato paste and lots of worcestershire sauce. Gently stir again. Add spices- basil, parsley, red pepper flakes, basically anything you want! Remember its your stew, do what you want! I usually stick a bay leaf or two in as well. Pour a little more than half the carton of beef broth and gently fold again. I have a big crock pot, but I still only start with half the mushrooms cause I can never get them to all fit, but I love mushrooms so much and because they get so much smaller as they cook I dump more in later.

 

20120306-213325.jpg20120306-213758.jpg
Depending on what kind of time you have you can cook on high for about 3 or 4 hours (or until all your potatoes and carrots are soft), or you can leave the crock pot on low for 6-7 hours. Just remember if you’re a mushroom lover, put the other half of the mushrooms in about half way through.
Remember that it’s not always a good idea to lift the lid and the stew…it lets heat escape which you want to avoid. So be strong and leave it alone (except to add those extra mushrooms!!)
After all your patient waiting. Take the bay leaves out (you don’t want to eat those, ick) You’ll know everything is done when the potatoes and carrots are easy to poke with a fork, and the beef pieces can be easily pulled apart. Eat and enjoy!!

Speedy note: if strapped for time put everything in a really big pot with more of the broth being to a boil on the stove and everything could be ready in about 35-45 minutes. I find the slow cooking works better but I’ve done it the cheater way as well with great results.

20120306-214713.jpg

2 thoughts on “Easy Mushroom Beef Stew

  1. Here are the four most important ways slow cookers
    save you money:1. A crock pot that can be removed from the heating element (or base) is helpful for
    browning meats. After you gain some experience, you can begin to improvise with chicken or beef broth,
    wine, tomato juice,etc.

Leave a Reply

