Healthy Carrot Muffins

Happy New Year!  Hard to believe its 2015 already…so of course I’m already baking. I’ve made these a few times now and everytime I add something or take away something else from the recipe, but I think I’ve got it down now.  So enjoy!IMG_0433

What you need to have in your kitchen:

  • 2 c. all-purpose flour
  • 1 tbsp baking powder
  • 2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp nutmeg
  • 1 tbsp ground flax seed
  • 4 eggs
  • 1/4 c. vegetable oil
  • 3/4 c. unsweetened applesauce
  • 3/4 c. brown sugar
  • 3 c. shredded carrots (I needed about 9-10 small skinny carrots, but keep in mind that if you have larger carrots you won’t need to shred as many!)

And now the fun begins!

Preheat oven to 350F. (this recipe comes together pretty quick – unless you forget to shred your carrots ahead of time – like I always do)

In a large bowl sift flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, nutmeg and flax

IMG_0424IMG_0426IMG_0425

THEN, use another small bowl (or in my case a large glass measuring cup), combine eggs, oil, applesauce and brown sugar.  Give it a good stir to make sure all the wet ingredients are well mixed

IMG_0427IMG_0428

Pour the wet into the dry and mix. Making sure not to over mix as it can make the batter a little tough, mix just enough to moisten the batter.  Add in your mountain of shredded carrots

IMG_0429IMG_0430

Spoon into muffin liners and they’re good to go in the oven! (you could also lightly oil the pans with oil/butter, but I don’t like the extra oil it adds to muffin recipes. AND I somehow had Ariel muffin liners on the shelf! Special treat for me indeed!)  Fill the muffin tin about 3/4 full.  I got a full two pans out of this recipe so 24 muffins altogether.  Bake for 20-25 minutes in a 350 F oven.  Keep an eye on them to prevent burning as everyone’s oven is a little different.  I chose to freeze half of them so they’d keep longer too 🙂

IMG_0432

2 thoughts on “Healthy Carrot Muffins

Leave a Reply

