Easy One Hour Bread Recipe

Thank you Pinterest for allowing me to find this incredibly easy bread recipe.  I love the smell of freshly baked bread in the house, there’s nothing quite like it. (ok, except maybe cookies baking…we’ll call it a tie).  Regardless, I found this online yesterday and HAD to try it!

Now because I didn’t want two huge loaves of bread in the house, and my yeast is a little older then it should be (another great excuse for me to finally use up that jar in the fridge!) I had to modify the recipe a bit. But overall, I was really impressed.

Ingredients:

  • 2 3/4 c. all purpose flour
  • 2 heaping tbsp of sugar
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 heaping tbsp quick rise active yeast
  • 1 tbsp vegetable oil
  • 1 c. hot tap water (a few tbsp extra just in case)

Lets go!

  1. Turn the oven on to 200F
  2. Mix the flour, sugar, salt and yeast for a few seconds to make sure everything is well dispersed
  3. Add the oil and hot water and use the dough hook on your beater (or like me, I couldn’t find mine, so I used one regular beater…) Mix for a few minutes. Feel free to get your hands in there to help move it along.  Dough should be sticky, so if its too dry add a tbsp or more of the hot tap water and keep mixing (beater/hands)
  4. Take the dough out of the bowl and gently knead with your hands for a minute (a few quick folds)
  5. Separate into two mini loaves (mine were super cute)
  6. Form into loaves and place on a lightly greased cookie sheet
  7. Turn the oven off, place the loaves on their cookie sheet with a tea towel over them and leave the door slightly ajar. (I find this easier to help the dough rise, especially in our cold winter months)
  8. Leave for about 25 minutes
  9. Take out of the oven and leave to stand
  10. Pre-heat the oven again to 350F
  11. Cut slashed into the top of the loaves to help it breathe
  12. Brush loaves with melted butter for a wash finish and leaves a nice salty taste on the crust (my fav)
  13. Once heated, place the loaves back in oven without the tea towel for about 25 minutes or until a nice golden colour and when tapped they have that hollow sound. Mine ended up being two adorable little 8 inch loaves.
  14. Let cool, and then ENJOY!
(I won’t lie, I ate half a warm loaf last night by myself… I couldn’t stop. SO good! and the whole thing took me less than an hour!)
IMG_0633IMG_0630 IMG_0632
Leave a Reply

